Spanish medicine and the kindness of strangers

As I said in the previous post, I was driven into Fromista and dropped off at the Bus station. I offered a few euros for the lift but the driver refused graciously.  I waited until he was ready to go and slipped some coins into his pocket as we said goodbye, that he did not refuse!

Now to find the doctor’s office in town and ultimately explain my medical issue. It took me three stops for directions because I can’t understand more than two turns at a time. Finally I got close enough to the office that a little old man saw me limping and gently took my arm and ushered me to the clinic. There were two doors and one looked more like an emergency door so I picked the other and headed to recepcion. Luckily I had taken a picture of my blister so all I had to do is hold up the photo and make a sad face. Not knowing what to do next I whipped out my passport. That caused a fumbling through drawers until they found the price list in English. I held out my credit card, but nope cash only.  I pulled out the lowest amount of 45 e but was told no. The higher level was needed at 75e. 

During all of this commotion streams of people were coming in.  I figured I was going to lose the whole day waiting to be seen but I think since I was a paying customer I was walked over to the urgent area and taken right into an examination room.  From there it took a while until the nurse came in but they continuously came in and checked on me.  Once we got  started the nurse cleaned the area and clipped away at the blister.  I was laying on my stomach and must have looked bad (I have white coat syndrome) as she asked me if I was ill!  I said yes!  They did say it wasn’t infected but was very deep.  All I know is it looked nasty..then I tried to ask about how to care for the blister that’s when the doctor was fetched.  She had pretty good English and I tried to get across that my feet were really hurting along the edge. She poked and prodded until she found the sore area.  She decided it was inflammation and gave me a prescription for 600 mg of ibuprofen and squirted  an ointment in a plastic test tube like container.  All together I was probably in and out in 40 minutes and my travel insurance should reimburse for the expense.

By now Nancy arrived at the clinic.  We had two or three preselected meeting places in case we missed each other!  Now on to the pharmacia for the prescription!

It seems that no matter what I do, I attract the attention of a local old person. In the pharmacy a little old lady helped me find tape and gauze , no easy task to explain in Spanish! Then she tried to diagnose some bites that Nancy had received, She felt they were mosquito bites, with some very funny hand and body gesturing here.  We asked if they could be cinches (bed bugs)  She was  adamant that they were mosquito bites so we were relieved for 5 minutes or so until the pharmacist said no, they are bed bug bites!   He gave Nancy  a lotion and tea tree oil.  For my blisters I received an ointment that we later found out was olive oil and honey among other natural elements.  I showed him the cream that the doctor gave me and he was puzzled and upset because it wasn’t labeled, his best guess was cortisone cream. Add the tape, gauze,ointment,prescription for anti inflammatory, and antiseptic spray all I needed to do is cough up 53e. It was as n expensive day but It meant I was able to walk a little bit to the next town.  Only lost a few hours and now know a bit more about blister care. Wish I could get the blister prevention down, I do think that the lotion I have been la
thering on my feet each night since we started has warned off the bed bugs so far for me.

 The worst one that sent me to the clinic

My arsenal

 

2 thoughts on “Spanish medicine and the kindness of strangers

  1. Sorry you got such a nasty blister. I’ve had some like that as well. They are no fun. I’ve tried every remedy/prevention under the sun – nothing works for me. I say it is my penance on the Camino,…

    Like

Leave a comment